Bad Housekeeping Issue 1

22 January 2006 3:39 pm

I have not been very good on the housekeeping front.

The floors have not been mopped for three weeks. I don't do laundry until I run out of clean underwear, which makes it once a week or once every week and a half. The dining-cum-work-table is cluttered with odds and ends, from body lotion to students' essays to textbooks to remote controls to medication to umbrella to assorted stationery. Worst of all, I have not dusted the furniture and appliances in ages. The only kinds of housework that I do with some regularity is washing the dishes - because I cook for myself quite often - and scrubbing the bathroom and toilet floors, which you really have to do.

It's not even a big house that I live in. It's just a two-bedroom apartment. Every time I get home from work I tell myself that I need to do housework but I never do. I think it's the complacency of living alone. It's not like there's a hygiene police patrolling the neighbourhood, making random inspections of people's apartments. If there is one, I have nothing to worry about, anyway; I've caught glimpses of some of my neighbours' interiors and my God, the amount of junk they hoard inside! There is no sense of interior decoration at all.

Today being Sunday, I suppose I'll make my way to Mother's place, if Sister Y and her family unit will be there. I'm starting to look forward to these weekend family gatherings. I didn't used to make it a point to go. Some days I would feel tired and decide to stay in and potter about the house instead. Perhaps now that Sister Y's immigration to New Zealand is a matter of months, soon after my May wedding, I feel the need for all of us to connect on a deeper level, so that we maintain the familial bond, even when we are separated by geography.

The weather, though, is discouraging me. We had a spell of warm, sunny but humid weather this week, and now it's pouring again. Sister Y needs to give me a call and give me the kick in the butt that I need to get out of the house.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006