Post-Surgery Post

17 February 2006 10:21 am

I'm okay. My cheeks are swollen, and I can't really eat (last night's dinner: 3 glasses of soya milk and a tablespoon of chocolate ice-cream), but I don't have a fever and my gums seem to have stopped bleeding.

I'm tougher than I imagined myself to be. The general anaesthetic wore off just an hour after the surgery, and except for the pain, I was functional. I could walk, go to the toilet and change out of the hospital gown, back into the clothes I came in. I think I would have managed going home by myself, but the doctor and nurses insisted that I had an adult take me home, otherwise they could not release me. For that matter I had to tell them that someone would pick me up after the surgery even before the surgery itself. I didn't ask anyone because I didn't think anyone would be free and I didn't think it was a big deal if I came and left by myself. They refused to perform the surgery unless I had someone. Because I had rather stupidly left my mobile phone at home, the only number I could remember was Sister Y's. Thank God she was free. She came with Ifa at close to 6 pm. Ifa was afraid to look at me, the silly girl. However, she had enough morbid curiosity to look at the teeth that got pulled out (they were returned to me in a small plastic zipped bag), though not for long.

The teeth:

Looks like six teeth in there. I was afraid the doctor was going to tell me he had to knock out the ones around the impacted teeth, but it turns out that those are the same four wisdom teeth, two of which had to be broken into smaller pieces before being extracted. Phew.

I'm looking forward to a speedy recovery and a productive time at home.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006