Two Weeks Left

11 May 2006 9:21 pm

Time has started to sprint.

K and I are spending money like we've won the lottery. If only. If wishes were horses, beggars would ride.

I've had to make another dress because the one I intended to wear for the solemnisation turned a little too sexy for such a er, solemn occasion. I don't want to look inappropriate. The solemnisation is the most important part of the wedding. Anyway I feel happy about having made the third dress. I decided to cave in and make a baju kebaya in cream lace. Now I have one wedding dress that's Malay traditional. I intend to wear it for Hari Raya too, and hopefully I can wear it for two or three Hari Rayas. That would make it worth the money I spent on it. (Don't ask. I would never spend as much as I did if it wasn't for my wedding.) No point hanging the dress in the wardrobe after the wedding until it rots. Meanwhile K got a baju Melayu made for the solemnisation, complete with songkok, kain samping, capal and kris, and I bought two linen shirts for him to wear for the wedding receptions. Now all he needs is a pair of tan linen pants and a slick pair of shoes and he's all set.

Then there are the hantaran gifts. Initially we didn't want to bother ourselves with exchanging gifts, but then we realised that we could afford to give each other a few items, like prayer mats, prayer beads, prayer robes, the Quran (with translation and annotation), toiletries and shoes. Nothing extravagant, just things we would need and would use regularly. We're very happy with what we're giving (and getting). :-) Looking for the hantaran gifts was one of the more enjoyable shopping expeditions we made around Arab St, Geylang and Orchard Road.

Yet there is more to be done and to pay for. Tomorrow, after our sampling session at the caterer's, K has to pay the 50% deposit for the food we ordered. As for me, I have to pay the remaining 50% for the wedding cake we ordered. Then there's the flowers, favours, make-up artist and tent, tables and chairs. So much, so much.

I hope it's all worth it. I'm actually looking forward to just being K's wife and living the modest life I was leading before.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006