My Weekend

Sunday, Apr. 11, 2004 4:54 p.m.

The weather these past few days is what I would call raging hot. It's the kind of weather that makes tempers flare up at the slightest provocation, and pierces the flimsy veil separating anger and violence, so that it takes all of your rational mind and self-control not to act on your passions. It's like sitting in a sauna the entire day, you can feel the heat radiating off your skin and you're drenched in sweat all the time. A fan turned on full blast cannot alleviate the discomfort, you have to resort to the A/C even if you're a cheapskate tenant trying to go low on utilities like me.

That's why I decided to enjoy the air-conditioned comfort of the neighbourhood internet cafe. And here I am.

I cannot believe Friday and Saturday are gone. The horror, the horror. The one good thing I did this weekend was to go running. I was giving my spanking new pair of Nike Air Max Tailwind a dry run, as it were, to see if they give me the cushioning I need. It was a pitiful attempt. I could only run without stopping for 10 minutes, and then I turned around and walked back, which took 15 minutes. I saw lightning split the sky followed by the boom of thunder on the walk home and I felt less like a loser after that.

It is a long road to the lean, taut body of my youth, but yesterday I have made a start. Baby steps.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006