My Fantasy Compilation Album Series Part 3

Sunday, Mar. 07, 2004 8:14 a.m.

Album: Class of '93

Artist: Various

Review

I'm not going to pretend to be a music reviewer, this time I'm going to get personal. Basically this fantasy compilation album features songs which remind me of my junior college years in 1992 and 1993. I was 17-18 at the time. I remember listening to more music then that I had ever done before, and music even from genres that I'd never been interested in (basically I was a pop/R&B junkie up throughout my early teens). MTV had just started to air their top 40 music video countdown program here and we all watched it religiously. Music was our lifeline through all those late nights when we had to cram for never-ending tests and exams. I dedicate this album to everyone in the class of '93.

I thought long and hard about which songs to put on the list, and I had only one criterion: that each song, when listened to, would evoke an unmistakable pang of nostalgia in me, and with it memories specific to the period. Basically if I heard any of the songs on the list, like say when I'm in the supermarket buying groceries (yeah, that'll happen. Cold Storage loves ABBA too much.), it wouldn't just be background music or white noise to me. I'd pause, and smile a little maybe, and think about those years, even it's just for a few seconds. I wouldn't necessarily wish I could go back in time, but I know I'd at least say to myself, "Oh my god, that was some year."

Perhaps one thing revealing about this album is its eclectic nature. You have rock, R&B, alternative, grunge and hip-hop all thrown into the mix, mirroring the uncertainty, confusion and sometimes agony of that age, in which everyone wanted to be somebody, everyone did everything everyone else was doing, and no one had a clue how the future was going to look like. Nor did we care.

Track Listing

1. Give It Away - Red Hot Chilli Peppers

2. Come As You Are - Nirvana

3. Plush - Stone Temple Pilots

4. No Rain - Blind Melon

5. Divine Thing - The Soup Dragons

6. Daughter - Pearl Jam

7. Linger - The Cranberries

8. Didi - Khaled

9. November Rain - Guns N Roses

10. Two Steps Behind - Def Leppard

11. Jump - Kriss Kross

12. Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat) - Digable Planets

13. Rain - Madonna

14. You Want This - Janet Jackson

15. Again - Janet Jackson

16. One Last Cry - Brian McKnight

17. End of the Road - Boyz II Men

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006