I Feel like Chicken Tonight

09 September 2004 5:39 pm

Edited 11.40 p.m.

I miss chicken.

I can't remember when exactly we stopped importing fresh chicken from Malaysia, but it must be at least 2 weeks ago. I haven't seen it in supermarkets eversince. The bird flu epidemic is far from over. Suddenly I want to make chicken paella and grilled chicken breasts and chicken pasta. I suppose I can still find chicken on the menu if I eat out, but I want to cook my own chicken. I can't buy frozen chicken because they come in 1kg packs and that feeds me 10 times over. Imagine thawing the damn thing for hours and hours and only using a tenth of it and you have to consume the rest within the week (and that's probably cutting it close). Ridiculous.

I hope the millions of culled chickens are enjoying themselves in Chicken Heaven. I still want to send one of them there myself, though.

Last semester, I discussed animal rights issues with my class as part of the argumentative essay module that the kids had to do. We watched some PETA video clips of farm animals subjected to inhumane treatment and slaughter on the net, and The Meatrix, just for fun. After that I considered being a vegetarian for a while. If there are vegetarians out there who can suggest and send me some good recipes (that don't always involve tofu), I will consider vegetarianism more seriously. Animals just keep getting sick and spreading diseases to humans because of the way we treat them, it seems to make sense to stick to plants. But I need protein! Until I discover alternatives to tofu, I will not say no to seafood and chicken.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006