Sleep-deprived

Thursday, May. 20, 2004 8:52 a.m.

If you ask me what the capital of Tanzania is, I will kill you. I will attempt to, that is. It would most likely amount to a clumsy swat at your shoulder. And I will miss.

When you've only had 3 hours of sleep, and another working day beckons, your body does what it can to keep you upright. You conserve energy. You make small movements and speak softly. You concentrate on breathing in and breathing out. You munch and sip. You relieve yourself when nature calls.

Everything else does not compute. Today is not the day to be taking IQ tests.

I'm a walking zombie. Don't expect any deep thoughts today. Not till I get home and get a 12-hour sleep.

Why didn't I get enough sleep? I was grading exam scripts all night and didn't stumble into bed till 3, only to get up at 6. There is a Singlish idiom to describe what grading papers feels like: vomiting blood.

*YAWN*

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006