Your love's coming down like...

Thursday, Sept. 18, 2003 11:43 a.m.

Random revery revolving round the rain :

It was raining beautifully earlier in the morning. Bold flashes of lighting like fault lines in the sky, and rumbling, growling, roaring thunder. So much drama. I loved it. The only problem was I could barely hear myself above the sound of the pouring rain and the thunder so I decided not to fight the forces of nature and made my students watch a foreign film instead on VCD (we have a PC in our classroom). It was Majid Majidi's 'Children of Heaven', the movie that inspired Jack Neo's 'Homerun'. Of course I gave the kids work to do based on the movie, a comprehension exercise (it's a foreign film, they have to read subtitles, film is art is text, so it's a valid task to set them). Anyhow they enjoyed analysing a movie instead of a written text for a change, and I get to preserve my husky voice, ha. Win-win situation.

I must swim but the weather has not been encouraging. So hard to get a fitness routine going when you opt for an outdoor sport.

The thought of moving in with K is becoming more and more appealing. Nothing to do with him as a person, I'm crazy about him, it's just me and my insecurities and anxieties. But I feel like it's going to work out in the end.

And now for a flashback. Early '90s.

For the longest time, when I caught Madonna's 'Rain' song on the radio or saw the music video on TV I thought she was saying, 'Rain...hear it on your windowpanes, feel it on your fingertips, blah-blah-blablabla-blah'. I'm usually good at figuring out the lyrics of songs just by listening to them a few times, but this one stumped me for three years, I don't know why. To be fair to myself, I didn't really bother to listen out for the part and break it up into intelligible units. Then one day I realised that I had become a Madonna fan, kind of, because when I thought about the songs she had that I liked there were more than five ('Secret', 'Human Nature', 'Take a Bow', er, can't think of any more at this point). So I decided to buy one of her CDs. I found the 'Rain' single and what should I see written on the cover but the answer to the blah-blah part that had eluded me all this time. I think I laughed at myself. I should have figured it out. And that explains the title of this entry. Nostalgic tribute to past thickness.

Reading Nick Hornby's 'High Fidelity'. Funny.

Don't think I'll ever finish 'The Satanic Verses'. After Gibreel and Saladin make it back to London (Ellowen Deeowen), it suddenly stopped being interesting.

4.50 p.m. I'm going home!

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006