The Singleton's Guide to Eating Well...At Home

Friday, Feb. 06, 2004 1:22 p.m.

I have lived on my own for coming on two years. And I have learned to cook for myself on a regular basis. There are 2 main reasons why I cook:

  1. Eating out can be expensive; and
  2. You have no control over how many calories you consume.

Sure, you can ask for smaller portions and all that, but if you're forking out $20-30 for your dinner, you'll want the works. You want to be satiated. I only dine at a restaurant when I'm looking for gastronomic indulgence anyway.

Of course, there are other times when you eat out without paying through your nose, those quck bites at fast food joints or sandwich takeaways like Subway, or slow food at the food courts, $2 a plate for almost anything. Those times you don't feel a burn in your pocket, but in your stomach. I cannot have a McDonald meal without feeling really disgusted with myself. Worse still, I feel hungry for more two hours later.

In the end, I just find it more satisfying to feed myself. I can control the portions, choose the ingredients, decide on the flavor, yadda yadda. No doubt I am not the only one in the world who lives alone and cooks at home. But I thought I should share my limited wisdom in this area. Perchance there are newly independent gals out there who're trying to make it on their own and could use some tips.

THINGS THAT I MUST HAVE IN THE KITCHEN:

PREFERRED MEAT (read: easiest to handle and taste good)

DISHES I CAN PREPARE AND EAT OVER AND OVER AGAIN WITHOUT GETTING SICK OF IT:

BEVERAGES:

And that's it. That's how I've survived.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006