Super Size Me

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2004 2:09 p.m.

I have put on 10 kilos since I started teaching in 1999.

That's 2 dress sizes bigger.

I must exercise.

I think my weight started ballooning two years ago, when I became more or less a full-time sedentarian. I used to have a skeleton of a fitness routine going. I would at least swim once a week (Sunday evenings), or play ping-pong with colleagues, or rollerblade. Then the people I used to do these things with couldn't do them with me anymore, and that upset the routine. Things happened, like people found new boyfriends/girlfriends or left the profession or left the country for further studies/work, and those new events superceded the weekly friendly round of ping-pong/badminton/tennis. I was one of those people myself. After I met K, I was spending all my time after work with him, and weekends too. And the way it goes when you start a relationship, you end up eating a lot. Love whets your appetite, eh? :-)

So now I'm trying to kickstart my fitness routine again. Or maybe I'm not trying. It's just that the idea of being fit has been in my mind every day. Like Catholic guilt. Now I feel I have to do something before I turn 29. Which is next week. Or at least be better at hiding my flab through my clothes. But that's a cop-out solution.

How did I become so weak-willed?

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006