Thank you

Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004 5:29 p.m.

Tomorrow's my birthday.

Today I thank the following people for the difference they have made in my life:

-Siti : You are my best friend. You were there for me through all the shit that I was going through back in uni and you're still here for me. We can never stay mad at each other, and I'm glad! You're also the best teacher I know, you inspire me to be a great teacher too. You're a strong, passionate woman and you remind me that life is to be lived to the fullest. God bless you.

-K : I love you so much. You are smart and compassionate, and in my eyes so gorgeous and adorable and sweet. Life became so much more fun and so beautiful since I met you.

-Ma : You're so horrible at showing you care but I know you love me. I admire you for being a strong woman who raised 3 kids on her own. You're so crap with money and I can't stand that side of you but in you I see someone who is not afraid to live, who believes in her right to happiness, and it gives me strength.

-Pa : I need you in my life and I'm glad you're there. We've been estranged for so long and it's hurt us both. I like the fact that we can talk now and I'm not afraid of you anymore. I do love you. Just give us time to heal.

-My sisters : Yanti, you are the sweetest sis one can ever have! And you're such a great mother, watching you with Iffah makes me want to have my own kids :-). Nu, you have the brightest smile in the world and you still have that childlike wonder in things (being 11, after all) that reminds me how beautifully simple life can be.

-My brothers : You guys are adorable. I'm so happy I can talk to you, even if I only get "Dunno", "Yeah", "Huh?" back. You remind me that I am a sister, and I'll never stop worrying about you, which means I'll never forget my family, wherever I am in this world.

-Iffah : My pretty niece! You're such a beautiful, healthy, intelligent child. You show me that there's hope for the future.

-Marlinda : You were my best pal in junior college. You taught me to swim! You also showed me the pleasure of running. And you always found a way to make me smile. Thanks, sweetie.

-Jaja : You (together with Soffy) taught me to how to ride a bicycle at 13 [blush]. And we go way back. I appreciate the gentle wisdom you dispense. And the fact that you will take any secret I reveal to you to your grave.

-Lela : You are the voice of logic in my life. I know if I want to have sense talked into me, I can count on you for that. And you always have a way of seeing the funny side of life.

-Yang Yong : You are my sister/colleague! We have the same sense of humor and you always remind me to laugh. You I like!

-Ven : You always make me laugh and you write beautifully! Always jealous of your college papers (you found a way to use the word "jettison" in a Literature essay- so poetic *smirk*) And you are one sexy mama.

-Shin : You're a generous, sweet and loyal friend. Who has a knack for finding the coolest stuff to read or download on the Net!

I love you all. As I turn 29, I will remember how you helped me get there, and how you made the journey easier in your own special ways. MMMMuah.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006