My Fantasy Compilation Album Series Part 2

Sunday, Feb. 29, 2004 2:15 p.m.

Another mock review.

Album : Me, My Man and You

Artist: Various

Review

There is no elegant way of putting it, life is just plain hard. It's hard to be alone, and it's hard to keep your relationship alive when you are with someone. In this album, 15 women confront the things that threaten their relationships: misunderstandings, abuse, the ex-girlfriend who's still trying to get back in the game, the jealous successor who thinks you're trying to get back in the game, the cheating boyfriend, the hot-and-cold boyfriend. The tones vary. Ashanti is frustrated but still too in love to let go (Foolish), Ms Dynamite knows exactly where the relationship is going, and can't wait to call it quits (Sick N Tired), and Alicia Keys confidently dismisses some nobody's laughable way of trying to get her man by getting her to initiate the break-up (Jane Doe).

If nothing else, listening to these songs will make you realise a number of things that you already know:

(a) people suck

(b) people are terrified of being alone, and many will do anything to be with somebody, even if it means taking your man

(c) sometimes it's okay to be alone, e.g. if you see your asshole boyfriend with "hoochies everywhere" in a club when he's supposed to be home with the boys. (Hands Up)

(d) it's okay to fight with your man, it's not always the end of the road

There can be something comforting about listening to songs that tell us things we already know. After all, if there's one time in our lives when we're not alone, it's when we're miserable. Misery sure luuurves company. And the beautiful irony is, in the company of other miserable people, we often find ways out of our own misery.

Track Listing

1. We Need A Resolution - Aaliyah

2. Troubles - Alicia Keys

3. Foolish - Ashanti

4. What About - Janet Jackson

5. Creep - TLC

6. Say My Name - Destiny's Child

7. Where My Girls At - 702

8. The Boy is Mine - Brandy & Monica

9. A Case of the Ex - Mya

10. He Wasn't Man Enough - Toni Braxton

11. Ex-Girlfriend - Mariah Carey

12. Jane Doe - Alicia Keys

13. Hands Up - TLC

14. Sick N Tired - Ms Dynamite

15. Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby? [Rae & Christian Remix] - Dinah Washington

I think I should put a stop to my fantasy compilation album series. Or at least put it on hold until

(a) I've bought new CDs; and

(b) I've examined the new CDs that I do have and found a theme to tie them together.

But I actually do wish someone would make these mix CDs for me. That's why I'm always making these song lists in my little notebook.

Anyway I'm outta here. Sorry to bore my few regular readers out there with such an inane entry. It's Sunday. I don't usually write during the weekend because I don't have a PC at home, but I think I've gotten into the habit of writing every day now and I don't want to lose momentum. Hope you guys had a good weekend. For me, the sun's up and I think I'll enjoy the light outside if you don't mind.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006