You are what you eat

Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2004 6:53 p.m.

Would you say your taste in food is weird?

I eat bittergourd raw and I eat most vegetables, but you can never, never tell me to eat bean sprouts.

I have a sweet tooth, I think, but I cannot stand anything that is intensely sweet, like chiku (Asian fruit that looks like kiwi fruit on the outside, but is brown and sweet on the inside) or bread-and-butter pudding or fruit cake or any dessert that has gula melaka (brown sugar syrup) or caramel in it. I like lebkuchen, this German chocolate-covered gingerbread specialty, which my family and friends think is gross. And I love chocolates. But they have to be dark, preferably with hazelnuts. I love cake too, but chocolate cake and fruit flan cake and sometimes butter pound cake; I somehow hate cheesecake, except the light-as-air Japanese version. Fresh cream, always, no butter cream. Can take ice-cream, but Haagen-Dazs, yes, Ben & Jerry's and Swensen's, no and no. Can't finish a tub (maybe half). Flavours: chocolate and banana (yums), Rocky Road, peppermint chip, coffee, Swiss Almond Vanilla.

I only eat chicken breasts. No one taught me this. My mom hated me for being so finicky as a child. I only learned to eat chicken wings when I was 18, but I always always ask for chicken breast at KFC or whenever possible. I don't eat mutton. And duck tastes horrible to me. Fish I have no issues with, as far as I can remember. I love fried fish roe, heh heh. I do NOT eat the eyes. I have tried venison and it's lovely, but ostrich meat's really good, like very tender beef.

I will not eat worms, or ants, any of the "comida de la tierra" stuff. Or crocodile. Or kangaroo. Or frog's legs. Or monkey/any animal brains. Or duck's tongue, feet. They probably taste good, but the idea of them puts me off.I might suck the brain juice from a prawn's head, though. A cooked prawn, I must add.

I think I'm babbling like this because I'm hungry. I'd better see about dinner.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006