Who's That Girl?

Friday, Apr. 16, 2004 1:16 p.m.

Yesterday evening I went to ye ole dive shop, Seahounds Scuba, to confirm and pay for my scuba-diving trip to Tioman Island, Malaysia, for the Labour Day weekend (April 30 to May 2). I am so excited about it! Seems like the underwater world is really happening during this period. Same time last year, SB (the guy who owns the place) and his gang saw a whale shark, about 4.5 metres long, at the Sawadee wreck. Woo hoo, I wanna see one too! Last weekend, there were sightings of unusual denizens of the sea, as well as of family units of the usual suspects, i.e. black-tip reef sharks and turtles. The best part is, the water is supposed to be calm at this time of the year. This means that I won't have to deal with nausea-inducing boat rides and annoying surface current at the end of dives. 2 weeks to go and I'm off!

The depressing thing is that I had dinner after that with L and then we went to Bugis Junction, which is a mall near the dive shop. She was looking for swimming goggles and I was looking for nothing in particular, so we decided to part ways. I ended up at The Body Shop and bought some toiletries for the house.

Then I caught myself in the mirror.

Who the fuck was that? I was looking at someone with unruly hair, bags under the eyes, carrying too much weight for her own good and looking drab and weary in black.

I looked ugly. I feel ugly now.

I tried some damage control when I got home. I pampered myself with a hot bath (threw a quarter of the jar of bath salts in), moisturised with lavender body lotion, lit some incense sticks. Felt more relaxed after that.

When I woke up today reality hit me again.

I need to look after myself better.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006