An Afternoon with my Sister

12 December 2005 11:19 pm

Today I spent quality time with my youngest sister, Nu. We spent an entire afternoon in town. I had some errands to run, and when I was done we did some shopping.

First, we went to the travel agent to see if there was anywhere we could go over the Christmas, New Year or Lunar New Year weekend that hasn't already been fully booked. It turned out that Bintan was still an option. I could only afford to pay for a night's stay at the resort for all four of us, but it was better than nothing. Later, when I got home, I got a text message on my mobile phone from Sister Y, saying that she, Brother-in-Law and Ifa are in too. I will have to return to the travel agent tomorrow and make another booking. This will be the first family trip since Sister Y got married, which was six years ago. Seven of us together (including the little one) - I hope we don't gouge each other's eyes out! It's a blessing in disguise, I suppose, that we're only staying for a night. Please pray that we make it to Bintan and back in one piece. I hope Bintan remains safe from terrorists.

After I settled the booking, I decided to go lingerie-shopping, for Nu's benefit rather than mine. The girl is growing fast and as a woman I know how important it is to have good support. I got her sports bras to encourage her to exercise. She's putting on weight and not in a flattering way. Exercise will do wonders to her self-esteem, not to mention her health and fitness.

My maternal instinct unabated, I decided to take Nu back to my place and cook her dinner. I made chicken pasta in tomato sauce. I even asked Brother K1 if he wanted to come over. He said he was staying late in school to do his project. Before Nu went home, I gave her my baggy pair of Levi's, because the pair she was wearing looked a little tight, and a white gold chain from my personal collection so that she has something to wear that will not tarnish and/or give her rashes, like silver. I hope she had a nice day.

I admit I feel guilty all the time about not spending enough time with my siblings. That's one reason I decided to take the family to Bintan this year. It will be a rare chance for us to bond. In six months' time I'll be married, and things will not be the same. I'll probably have even less time for my siblings. Nu, the youngest, is the most neglected. She spends most of her time alone at home, since no one goes home from work or school earlier than six. I worry that she will do stupid things with the wrong set of friends out of sheer boredom. I'm making an effort to be someone she will count on if she needs anything. The next few years of her life will be challenging.

I'm happy with what I did today.

P.S. I'm sorry that Brother K2 will not be joining us in Bintan because he's doing national service. However, he's had his share of travelling this year when he went to Sabah on a volunteer community-based project. I hope he doesn't feel too bad about having to stay in Singapore.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006