One Wedding and Five Rabbits

10 December 2005 11:07 pm

I attended Cousin H2's wedding today with the rest of the family.

It was a grand affair. The reception area was elegantly bedecked with flowers, white tulle and celadon satin, the food was good and plentiful, and the bride and groom were dressed to the nines. Clearly a lot of effort and money went into making it a success. I was happy to see my aunts, uncles, cousins, nephews and nieces again. The last time we met was at my engagement ceremony. I think Mother was especially happy. It must have been at least five years since she last saw her former in-laws. It's nice to see that they're all still fond of each other.

Two cousins who were not present at my engagement ceremony for one reason or another, was present at this wedding, so we had a nice time catching up with each other. One of them is now divorced. I did not ask why; it was obvious from the way he said it that it was not an amicable divorce. The other cousin, H1, is the elder brother of the groom and the best man, so we only managed a very short chat before he excused himself to attend to his brother. Looking at H1, all hot and bothered, I felt a bit sorry for him. Who will be the best man for K at my wedding? It sure doesn't look like fun. We must remember to show our appreciation to everyone who helps out at our wedding.

In other news, the baby of the family, Ifa, has finally warmed up to me. She prattles a lot with me and gets me involved in whatever she's doing. For instance, if she's drawing she wants me to watch as she explains her art. Today was the Rabbit series. She did two abstract sketches, 'Two Rabbits' and 'Three Rabbits', silver ink on black construction paper. When she becomes famous, these early works will fetch a handsome price, I'm sure. :-)

Time for bed. Good night.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006