by reason of infirmity

Saturday, May. 22, 2004 1:16 p.m.

I wish I was gung-ho enough to pursue some of my interests without requiring a friend to join me. It�s so lame and it�s frustrating. You want some examples? Here, have at thee:

I really miss dancing. I�m pretty good at it. Not in manner of the fabulous late Aaliyah, but good enough that I never look stupid on the dance floor. I don�t have two left feet and I sure can shake it. But I just can�t see myself turning up alone for salsa class, and having to partner random strangers who probably came with their girlfriends who wouldn�t be too pleased if we had the slightest chemistry. What would be the fucking point of dancing without a proper partner? Ditto with flamenco. Can�t do the mating ritual with clapping, tapping and fierce come-fuck-me looks sevillanas alone. Hip-hop ain�t fun alone, either. So fuck fuck fuck.

As for languages, I can definitely sign up for courses by my lonesome but again, what would be the fucking point if I have no one to speak these languages to? It will go the way of my foray into French, which I aced in secondary school, and Spanish, which I learned 2 years ago and was really good at only to have my proficiency, through lack of practice, be reduced to getting the general sense of Alejandro Fernandez (hot hot hot!) songs. Not exactly a difficult thing to do for the most part considering the preponderance of �corazon� and �amor� in his lyrics.

I am infirm of purpose. Go, me.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006