Stalkers and Weirdos

09 December 2004 2:52 am

So I have a month before my Gold account expires. I don't know whether I want to renew it. I'd rather start a new diary (which doesn't stupidly have my name in the url), and upgrade that into a Gold account. Then I'll transfer my entries over to the new place.

It creeps me out when I check my daily stats and look at my referring pages report, and then find that someone has found my diary by doing a search on "widyaz". It means someone was looking specifically for my diary. If you've been reading me, you wouldn't need to search for my diary. Unless you're frustrated that you can't access my private entries and are hoping that the search results will give you cached versions of them. Don't be a sad git. Ask, and you shall receive. Except if you're The Asshole.

Then I get people who click on my diary and unwittingly reveal their inclinations and interests. For instance, I discovered recently through my referring pages report that I am search result #73 if you were to do a search on "Wifey's World" on Yahoo!. I couldn't stop laughing when I found out what Wifey's World is about. My entry was relevant only because I used the word "Wifey". Still, it's interesting that the person clicked through 9 pages of search results to get to mine. Maybe he/she wanted to try other sites similar to Wifey's World and thought that my diary was it. Sorry to disappoint, Stranger, but thanks for the tip-off on Wifey's World. Too bad I'm not into horny women.

I'm sure this has happened to many Diarylanders. I've been biting my tongue all this while, contemplating whether to write an entry about all these nameless people who find their way to my diary through interesting means. I don't mind these chance visits, they amuse me immensely. But those intentional searches on my diary somehow make me paranoid.

So I'll let you know when I move, if I move.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006