Daylog Alert: Anniversary Celebration

Saturday, Jun. 12, 2004 11:33 p.m.

I have had the gastronomic equivalent of multiple orgasms.

Da Paolo Il Giardino rocks! The location is perfect; quiet, secluded and romantic, but with a semi-casual ambience, so you feel comfortable chatting away while your food is being prepared instead of being hyperaware of the clinking of glasses and the sound of your own breathing. And the food -- OH. MY. GOD. From the stuffed portobello starter to the lobster pasta to the chocolate cake, it was bite after bite of delightful flavour. Mmmmmm.

I'm only raving about this restaurant because I've been to a number of fancy restaurants where the hefty bills did not match up to the quality of food or service. I don't care if you want to give your dishes unpronounceable names, as long as they taste great and come in adult (as opposed to infant) size portions. Don't give me weird shit like squid ink pasta with squid ink sauce, AND NOTHING ELSE, and then charge me $22 for it. That's what I would I call a WTF experience. (Oh, why would I order such a dish if I knew there was nothing else but pasta and squid ink? Because there was a time when I was naive and believed chefs earned an honest living and would die of shame before they slap an exorbitant price just for handmade pasta -- which they deserve payment for -- and the secretions of a sea creature -- which they cannot take credit for. Also that might have been the only thing on the menu that I could bring myself to eat, and I might have been among friends so I couldn't just scoot to the cafe next door while the rest dug into their fusion crap fare.) ANYway, I don't know when I'll ever dine at Da Paolo again, now that K and I know how much it will set us back, but it was the best setting I could think of to celebrate 2 years of love and friendship.

Good night. Sweet dreams.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006