Privacy

01 September 2004 11:11 am

When I read dklwm's entry some time ago, I didn't really reflect on what he was saying. In the aftermath of last night's shocking discovery, my mind went back to what he wrote.

Do I want people to discover my diary?

Yes and no. I have been happy with the people who read mine. Diaryland has not been very popular with the kids I teach (they all favour Blogspot), so I don't fear them stumbling into mine and discovering my rantings. Of course, this being a public document, anyone who's skilled in word and name searches can find me, if they know how to look. But by and large my readers are people around my age, who understand what I go through and do not judge.

I don't trust kids with private information about myself. Well, not all kids, but certainly most of them. I don't trust that the information they get will lead to a better understanding of me, and not be used as fodder for retaliatory fiction in their blogs. I think they have enough fodder of our own, from their daily interactions with me. My personal life is sacred. I don't care to see it mangled and distorted and reworked into something grotesque and despicable.

So I might lock this diary one day. If you would like to continue reading it, leave me a note and I will remember to give you the password to access it. Those of you who do not have Diaryland accounts, sign my guestbook. FYI, the guestbook can be found when you click on Contact on the menu under my entries. Non-diarylanders can sign it.

Have a good day, everyone. I'm working hard to make sure I have one myself. Today, I think, is a time for reflection.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006