Thank god for island retreats

25 July 2004 11:24 pm

I'm back from my weekend getaway. I wish I don't have to work tomorrow.

Well, I had a lovely time in Sibu Island. This being our second trip there, I still marveled at the ease with which we set off and arrived. 6pm pick-up in town. 3-hour journey up the Malaysian east coast. 30-minute boat ride to island. 4 hours total and you're in another place, another country. The night we arrived, all I did was read Dan Brown's Angels & Demons till I fell asleep. I remember the last thing I said was "That's what I'm paying for", with reference to the sound of the waves outside. It was the most blessed sleep I've had in a week.

Things I love about Sea Gypsy Village Resort:

Some milestones to announce: I completed my 40th dive (applause, please), and K tried diving for the first time! It's something called a Try Scuba course and basically you get to put on scuba gear and go on one dive in relatively shallow waters (around 5 metres) with an instructor, who controls your buoyancy for you so you won't have to do much except breathe and kick. He saw a sole on the seabed and a nudibranch which he refused to touch even though the intructor signaled underwater that it was okay to. I'm so proud of the fact that he took the plunge, literally. As for my one leisure dive at Little Bay, it was just okay. The visibility was apparently 10 metres, but I felt that it was lower than that, 8 maybe. The water was cloudy with sediment because it had been raining heavily. It was an easy dive, though, and a good way to kill time. I touched a starfish that looked like a brown pillow.

I'm going to stop here and go to bed. I'll try to update as soon as I can. Ta.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006