Beat the heatwave, go surfing!

Monday, May. 10, 2004 11:45 p.m.

I am trying to write as much as I can before I turn completely into liquid and evaporate. I am melting here.

For the past two days the weather has been crazy-hot: 33 C (92F), sunny and windless, with a humidity of 84%. You do not want to be outdoors on days like these. You want to lock yourself in a freezer and never come out.

And so I have been trying to distract myself from the heat by doing all kinds of useless things online,such as:

  1. checking my e-mail and my blog stats every hour. Thanks, all of you who added variety to this compulsively repetitive and for the most part futile exercise through your notes and/or e-mails.
  2. reading The New York Times movie reviews.
  3. tinkering with the template I have now. Like should I change the wallpaper, or should I move the navigation bar more to the left, or ...
  4. chatting with random people on MSN.
  5. creating a template design site that I am now too lazy to work on and will probably leave to rot, though there is actually one working template in there. After hours of looking at hex color codes and background images in all textures and colors, I just felt so exhausted. Screw it. Next, I went
  6. looking for the kids who were featured in the MTV True Life documentary "I'm Going to the Prom", which I caught on Saturday night. I wanted to see where they are now, a la the Whatever Happened to ...?" series. This documentary is 2 years old, shot in 2002, because as you know (or maybe you don't), MTV very generously dumps its old shows in Asia, where they're lapped up by the programming-division-whores and re-packaged as new shows.

    Anyway, I did a Yahoo! search with these keywords: "mtv true life prom university high school florida" (the kids were from University High School in Florida), and I got next to nothing back. There was a link to the official UHS website, and one link to a dead blog belonging to a kid who went to the school and was around when the documentary was done, and she didn't really say much, except, "Oh did you know I was from the school? Yadda yadda yadda." I got nothing on the prom queen and the also-rans. Darn. I am, however, happy to report that prom was not taken as seriously as they were by those UHS kids when I was in junior college (which would coincide with the junior and senior years of high school, Americanos). Sure, we all tried our best to look 10 years older in our stage make-up and sprayed-stiff chignons and glam (who am I kidding? they're crap) dresses - I wore a long black-and-gold lace gown with flesh-tone lining for that naked look, yuck yuck yuck - BUT we weren't bitching and backstabbing for the Prom Queen title. Nobody really cared. It was more like voting for the Favourite Guy and Girl of the Class of '9-. But just like that documentary, I have no fucking idea what happened to those two. The girl I have a vague idea because she was in my class and we've been in touch on and off over the years, she's probably still doing relief work in some Third World country, the sweetie. The Prom King? I don't even remember his name.

And now I absolutely have to retreat into the air-conditioned comfort of the bedroom because every other part of me has melted and I am left with one solid finger and if I don't stop now and remove the finger from the keyboard, it will drip and short-circuit the laptop. Ta-ta.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006