Me, me, me, bleah

Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2004 9:39 a.m.

Because I am a highly efficient individual who can skillfully juggle paperwork, grading of students' assignments, the calls of nature, the rumblings of my tummy, quality time with beloved colleagues and my own malaise, I managed to spend a total of 2 hours yesterday dredging out stuff related to me, e.g. the meaning of my name, important events that happened on my birthday, you know, stuff that everyone should know, or shame on them. Here are my findings.

What my name means

Brief summary of your name: Widya

The name Widya creates a very independent, practical, analytical nature with skillful business abilities. You desire freedom from restrictions and authority in order that you can pursue your own ambitions. This name gives you leadership qualities and you are seldom happy in positions where you must direction from others. Material and financial success are the focus of your interests, but sacrificing much for material ambition will result in a lack of harmony and balance in your personal life, particularly a lack of appreciation for social courtesies and things of a more inspirational nature.

Comments: Finally, a site that can interpret my name, and quite spot on, too. Hate it when they say, "We have 700,000 names on our database!" when they actually mean they have 700,000 Western names.

-source: Kabalarian Philosophy

Birthday Buddies

The coolest guy to share the same birthday as me is Nicolaus Copernicus, 1473. He is the father of modern astronomy, the first European to propose that the earth and other planets revolve around the sun, and not the other way round, thus shattering the centuries-old Ptolemaic view that man and Earth were at the centre of creation. Poor Giordano Bruno, a Dominican monk, was tortured and burned for believing this "heresy" on the same date, 1600.

Prince Andrew, writer Amy Tan and Benicio del Toro also share the same birthday as me.

Departures

Deng Xiaoping died on this date in 1997, at the age of 92.

Technology born on this day

Edison patented the phonograph in 1878. The first song recorded on the phonograph was 'Mary Had a Little Lamb'.

This day in history

In 1942 Presidential Executive Order 9066 began placing 100,000 persons of Japanese ancestry (of which over 2/3 were American-born citizens) into ten "relocation centers" for the duration of WWII.

Other bits of info gained through this pointless exercise:

February 19 is the 50th day of the year.

Some links you can check out on your own:

- This Day in History

- Any Day in History

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006