Moved

13 December 2004 10:56 am

I spent the weekend moving into the new apartment, and buying and assembling furniture from Ikea, namely an INGO dining table and 2 ANTONIUS storage units. Don't you find it amusing how every product in Ikea has a name, IN CAPS? On top of the new furniture, I have a BILLY bookcase, a BEDDINGE sofa-bed, a BREMNES wardrobe and 2 GRONO lamps. I almost bought a GORM shelving unit too, but since I decided not to I guess that makes me GORMLESS, haw haw.

I'm settling in nicely. I love stepping on my linoleum FLOOR (no, not another Ikea product, uppercase used for emphasis here). I hate the wall-to-wall carpet of the old apartment, not only because of the ugly industrial grey colour, but because it makes the apartment warm all year. You do not need a carpeted floor in the tropics, not when the lowest the temperature will drop to is 23C/75F, not unless you're going to air-condition the entire apartment. I never dreamed there would come a day when I would say I prefer linoleum to carpet. Life is strange.

I know I have been saying I will take pictures of the new place and post them here, and I really want to, but I seem to have lost that roll of film. Which is a great pity because those pictures were taken before all the furniture arrived, so the living room had an art gallery look to it, well sort of: (fake) wooden floor (i.e. pattern on linoleum) and K's antiques (bronze dragon-duck creature, bronze elephant, carved wooden masks). Maybe more Museum of Anthropology. I have not lost hope yet. I'm sure I will find that missing roll among the boxes still unpacked.

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Doesn't it suck that 2 weeks of December have gone by? I want the holidays to last forever.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006