En route to babehood!

Monday, Jun. 21, 2004 12:25 a.m.

I just want to say I'm very proud of myself.

Between last Friday (June 11) and yesterday, June 20, a period of 10 days, I have managed to work out 5 times. I alternated between running for 30 minutes and swimming 20 laps (freestyle/breastroke medley). This is not by any stretch of the imagination a diffuicult workout for someone who has been working out regularly. For me, though, this is a commendable feat. I have been sedentary for too long, and if you recall my last attempt at running, you'll have a good idea of my current fitness level. But now, I've managed to do it! I can run for 30 minutes without stopping. I can swim 20 laps without stopping. I unbelievably can. I must now go further, faster and longer with every progress that I make.

My new fitness routine is giving me renewed confidence. I must keep this up even after the school vacation ends, when it's back to my 10-12 hour days at that mental institution of learning. Knowing that breaking the psychological barrier was not as daunting as I imagined it to be has motivated me to carry on until I'm back in shape, back to wearing Size 10 (10! See I don't ask for much, God.). Stick insects who used to snigger at my Rubenesque figure better watch out. If you think you and your jutting bones are hot, wait till you see a toned body with curves.

Yes I must be badass like that. Because there are people who will not be supportive of me. These wet blankets watch with amusement, assuming I will give up halfway, so that when it happens they can give me an indulgent smile and re-welcome me into the Sloth Club. I'm not alone in this either. Analiana gets it too, and I tell you that girl can run. She is my inspiration. Two kids later and she can run. I am shamed.

It is always when you're chasing your dreams or pursuing lofty goals or doing something that will make you a better person that you face the greatest challenges, usually from little people who are really afraid for themselves. Afraid because if some loser can beat the odds and become something greater than what everyone else imagines he/she can be, then they have to turn the mirror to themselves and ask, what greatness are they forgoing in their own lives with their passivity?

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006