Are you?

Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004 8:37 p.m.

I have found a suitably annoying retort to this question: Are you a virgin?

My answer: Of course I am! And even if I'm not I'll say I am.

The point is not whether I have issues telling the truth. The point is, no one should ask you such a question. No one. What business is it of theirs?

Singaporeans hate an equivocal answer like that. They think, if you're a virgin, you shouldn't be afraid of answering the question. After all, the country upholds "Asian values", whatever that means. What utter denial of universal human impulses. What if people aren't proud that they're virgins? It's their right not to say yes. It's everyone's right not to say anything at all. Why should these idiots who have the audacity to pose such a question to you, be rewarded with an answer?

Is virginity still a yardstick for your moral fibre in Singapore?

Do you have friends who are not virgins? If they ever tell you how each of them lost their virginity, the stories would all be different. We don't have a get-laid-by-prom culture here. They would have had sex at different points in their lives, or at different ages, for different reasons, and have different attitudes towards sex. Listen, before you judge. Not all who lost their virginity before they get married are sluts. And if they're sluts, so what? They're not trying to fuck you, so bugger off.

My rant for the day.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006