A Scent-imental Trip

29 October 2004 10:37 pm

I'm still pondering over the idea of memory as having an olfactory dimension, which I talked about in this entry. Seized by the realisation that I can actually put a scent to a year, I decided to do a timeline. Here it is:

You may say that I am schizophrenic or simply an indiscriminate perfume whore because of the variety I've sampled. That's your prerogative. You know I wouldn't give a fuck what nasty things you're thinking about me. In point of fact, I was very particular about what fragrances I wore. It had to be me, it had to capture my personality and mood. However, my resources were limited in the early and mid-'90s because I was still in school, so I gratefully accepted German Aunt's perfume gifts whenever she came to town (perfumes are her default souvenirs, when she couldn't think of anything German, and nice, to get for me, Sister 1 and Mother). I also received perfumes as gifts from friends and boyfriends. I could have asked specifically for my favourite scent, and sometimes I did, but I didn't always know I was getting a perfume for my birthday and besides, in all honesty I enjoyed the opportunity of trying something new, which I wouldn't have tried myself given my firm ideas of which types (i.e. floral, oriental, woody, spicy, that kind of shit) suited me most. If it hadn't been for all that experimentation, I would not have been able to do the timeline anyway. It'll be like, my life smells like CK's Contradiction, that kind of thing.

I would say my signature scents were Gio (early '90s), Donna Karan (mid-'90s) and Truth (late '90s to present). I was (and in the case of Truth, still am) deeply in love with them when I discovered them. They made me feel feminine and sexy.

For further reading: Perfumes over the Years by Denise Petals.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006