many false starts later

Tuesday, Sept. 02, 2003 3:26 p.m.

I must keep reminding myself why I started this blog: to make writing a habit, part of my daily ritual. If I'm going to write a book one day, I must be disciplined. I must not say I have no time, that I have too many tests to grade, or that I'm tired or upset, or even that I have better things to do. These are all the different faces of Resistance (Steven Pressfield's "The War of Art"). I have listened to my inner voice and it says my destiny is to write. Therefore I will write.

I have had a lovely weekend! August was a good month, in all. The dive trip to Tioman (August 8-10) was fun, even though the visibility was pretty bad, 8-10 metres (relative to the last time I was there, when the viz was 15-20). So we didn't see the underwater world in its full splendour, everything was in soft focus, very Impressionist. Also I didn't see any new fishes or big fishes (like sharks). But the coral gardens were beautiful, lots of potato corals and sea fans and staghorn corals, and there were some lovely swim-throughs as well (Labas & Malang Rocks). I enjoyed myself, as did my colleagues, I'm sure.

My aunt from Germany is in town! She arrived last Sunday, a surprise visit, really, cos she was here in March too. We usually expect her once or twice a year, the beginning and the near the end of the year. But she's here to spend 2-3 weeks with us, and we're happy to have her. In fact, I took her to Boom Boom Room the weekend just past. The cabaret show was boring, just drag queens dancing and lip sync-ing (yeah they look like women but so? the previous BBR dance performances were tongue-in-cheek and creative and that's what made them good), but Kumar's stand-up comedy act was still hilarious, itself worth the cover charge. My sweetie was with me too, naturally.

Last Friday we celebrated Teacher's Day in school. No prizes for guessing my profession. I have to say I actually had a very happy one. It wasn't because I got bagloads of gifts (I didn't). It was because I really felt appreciated for who and what I am as a teacher, whether it is my warped sense of humour or fiery temper or insistence on and dogged pursuit of work. In spite of my shortcomings or personality quirks, there were students who loved me all the same and understood what I was trying to do. They really made my day! It's nice to know that I haven't been a fuck-up. God knows I felt that way early this year, when the 'O' level results were released, and the class of 2002 flunked spectacularly in English.

And so I am a happier person now for having given myself the opportunity to unwind(Tioman), for having spent more time with my family (aunt), and for the knowledge that I am loved as I am, by family, friends, boyfriend, and students!

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006