This Weekend

28 August 2004 12:13 pm

I saw The Bourne Supremacy last night. I'm in love with Matt Damon. I love his understated portrayal of Jason Bourne. He made a highly skilled professional killer likeable, deserving of our sympathy and super cool. The fight scenes were brilliant. Such inventiveness and raw action.

This weekend is dedicated to work. I must finish all the grading I need to do, and complete the setting of papers for the upcoming exams. I will not be depressed about having to work through the weekend because we teachers have a midweek break coming up: Teacher's Day. I'm looking forward to that.

My students have inexplicably become darlings. I don't know why. It is possible that they are finally appreciating my efforts. Who knows with kids. All I know is that this phenomenon has not happened in years. For the past 3 years I have been teaching ingrates who continued not giving a shit all through their GCE's, and got the grades they deserved at the end. You would think I would be gleeful that the fuckers screwed up their chances at furthering their studies in the college or polytechnic of their choice, through their own special blend of stubbornness, stupidity and false sense of confidence. It wasn't so. When you're a teacher and you look at the abysmal performance of your students in your subject, you get an awful sinking feeling inside you, as if you were the one who's failed them. Deep down you know you gave it your all, but a part of you blames yourself for their failures. I don't like that feeling and I don't want to go through that again.

For these kids who have become angels, I want them to succeed. I want them to smile and laugh and if they cry at all, cry from unbridled joy. Knowing that you contributed to their success is the best gift a teacher can have, better than all the cards and flowers and candy you get on Teacher's Day.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006