Just for laughs

28 August 2004 1:29 pm

One of the high points of my English lessons this week was demonstrating why a sentence or a phrase is grammatically incorrect, or conveys a meaning horrifically different from the intended meaning, using stick-figure illustrations. Far from being offended, the kids were entertained and they were clearer about why they were wrong.

I am no artist. (Proof: I think the self-portrait that is the sole image on my current layout is a fucking great artistic achievement.) But I think I draw clearly enough, i.e. people know what the heck I'm getting at. Besides, you can't go wrong with stick figures. So, I have decided to share with you 4 drawings that I made in class, along with the problematic sentences that inspired them. These aren't the original drawings, of course, since those were done on the whiteboard. I did them on Adobe Photoshop, because I was, er, bored. Enjoy.

Have a good weekend, folks!

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006