This is for you

22 January 2005 2:01 pm

I now dedicate this diary to friends and family who live, study or work abroad. You visit when you like to see how I'm doing, and I tell you what's been going on back home or in my personal life as and when I can find the time to write. That way I don't have to write an email to every single person every day or every week and repeat the same story.

The thing about emails is that you write to a specific person or group of persons and you assume that they expect certain information from you. For example, if you write an email to an aunt, you would write about your family, because that's what you think she would want to read about. The problem is, it's not all the time that you have something new or different to say about the family. Most of the time you would say "Everyone is fine here" or something close to that. After a while you don't write an email unless you have something new to report, and the emails become less and less frequent.

I've come to realise that for the people who are far away from home, family and friends, any news is better than no news. Hence I started telling them about this diary, and the outcome has been great. I find that these days when family members and friends come to visit from wherever they are in the world, there are fewer gaps for me to fill in and we sometimes even talk about what I wrote and what they thought or felt about it. It's cool.

So, hello all. Welcome to my world.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006