Impasse

29 July 2004 8:24 pm

Like Spiderman, I have assumed the life of the ordinary average citizen. I go to work, I go home, I watch TV, I go to bed, I work the next day, I get paid, I pay my bills, on weekends I do nothing. Strangers do not take much notice of me when I walk past them, but I have a small group of close friends who see me, know me for my strengths and shortcomings, and embrace me for everything I am. It makes life bearable.

I try to be content with the business of day-to-day living. I suppose there is a part of Peter Parker that felt content in the knowledge that as Peter Parker, he only has to deal with the little earthquakes in his life and not cataclysms that affect the world. Inside though, there is the voice that cries foul. How dare you ignore your calling, it screams. How dare you try to silence me.

We know Peter's story. He chooses to be Spiderman, even if it means giving up Mary Jane. And by having the moral courage to choose his destiny, he wins her love anyway. Moral of the story: heed your calling and things will be better, even if it gets harder.

I want to get out of this fucking job and write already. I'm so sick of it. Bored out of my mind. I'm good at it so what? I'm not interested.

It's such a trial trying to last the year. Happy pills are here again.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006