Something to think about

21 November 2004 11:16 pm

It's November 21, but I'm already thinking about New Year's Eve and the party I intend to throw at my new place. If it happens, it'll be the third time I'm hosting a New Year's party. Right now I'm feeling good about doing it. My intuition tells me it'll be great.

There are 3 reasons why I make an effort to throw a New Year's party every year:

  1. Somehow I always find myself living in a new place every New Year's Eve, and it feels right to celebrate a new beginning and a new year together.
  2. I like to gather all my favourite people and watch them get sillier and sillier as the hours pass.
  3. The alternative sucks. :-) Honestly, I think it's stupid to spend New Year's in town, where gajillions of people are going to be, because (a) jostling crowds ain't fun, and (b) it will take forever to find a cab afterwards. I did it once 5 years ago and didn't get home till 5 or 6.

Now, I need to consider who to invite. I don't want to turn my house into a de facto cheap club and have random strangers who are friends of friends stream in and out. Quality matters more than quantity.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006