A quick update

10 February 2005 5:14 pm

I just want to say to my family and friends who have been faithfully reading this diary, that I have been very busy and unable to update as often as I would like to, and I'm sorry to keep you waiting for news. I understand how frustrating it can be not to know what's going on. I will summarise here the recent events that have happened.

Last week three students spat on their chairs when their class was asked to vacate a classroom I have been allocated for my lesson. My colleague, the teacher teaching them at the time, had taken the class to that classroom as a temporary solution because the video projector in their classroom had broken down. The three boys who spat, not understanding the situation, felt that it was unfair of me to drive their class out. They were caned. I now feel like quitting this job again.

Today is the second day of the Chinese New Year public holidays. Last night I hosted a steamboat barbecue dinner party in honour of an old friend from secondary school, who is leaving for Sydney to pursue a Masters in Creative Writing. The dinner was a success. I feel blessed that I have inherited some of my mother's cooking skills. My friend's imminent departure has made me think about my own future. I too would like to further my studies abroad.

I have not seen the family for 2 weeks. I have had so much marking to do. Last week, though, I was lucky that my sister and niece dropped by to see me at my place. My niece used the bed as a trampoline. She is a source of great joy to me and I am so proud to be her aunt. I have spoken to my mother on the phone to explain why I have been unable to attend the weekend gatherings at her place. She understands. I will make it this weekend, and especially the next, since I've been informed that there will be a celebration of sorts for my 30th birthday.

I'm turning 30 next week. Unbelievable, eh? 5 years ago, if you'd asked me how I would feel if I was 30, unmarried and still teaching, I would have said I would be miserable. It is strange and wonderful how life surprises you. I am happier now, approaching 30, than I was at 25. I feel loved and I am grateful to be loved by my friends and my family. I have Khalid, who is in New York but still close to my heart. I am looking forward to my birthday.

I have to leave now to watch a movie with a colleague. Hope to write again soon.

Love,
W

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006