Thankful

01 March 2005 7:50 pm

Great news. My classes did very well in the 'O' levels. The results were announced yesterday afternoon. Out of the 80 students that I taught for English, only 3 did not pass (I projected about 5), and there were 10 distinctions (A's), which beyond my expectations

My Literature students did well too. I got 3 distinctions from my Sec 4 Express class. Last year there was only one. So there is much to celebrate and be thankful for.

Finally, after 6 years of toiling and enduring many periods of disappointment and frustration, my efforts have been rewarded. I am grateful to God for this blessing. I am also very happy for my students. We didn't always get along, but we worked hard together and we never gave up trying to each give of our best.

In other news, I had a happy 30th birthday. Thanks, Pa, for your well wishes. I didn't do anything spectacular to celebrate, just had dinner with a few colleagues and watched a movie. My form class was sweet enough to throw me a surprise party. One of the girls baked a chocolate cake and the class gave me a big rabbit soft toy, which is quite cute, although not my favourite animal. Still, I'm born in the year of the rabbit so it's quite an appropriate gift. I'm touched by their gesture anyway. It's nice when you have a good relationship with your form class. At its best, entering your form class to teach is like going home. You feel relaxed and there's always laughter. Laughter is always good.

So for once, no Monday blues this week.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006