Irony

30 October 2004 10:42 pm

You know what? In this godless, soulless world, faith is what's going to save you. Ironic, isn't it? With all the technology and innovation that Man is capable of, he will never solve the problem of the void, that dark hole within every human being that craves MEANING and PURPOSE in this life.

I think I would have killed myself a long time ago if not for God. At 18 or 21. Instead I have kept on breathing and facing the ugliness of this world, a world full of cruelty, corruption, greed and senseless violence. Living for those rare, precious moments of unbearable beauty or indescribable peace, the balm that soothes your scarred soul until it's healed enough for you to suffer pain again.

Another irony: I don't even know if my soul is saved. I could be damned to hell already with 29 years' worth of sins. Yet I continue to believe and to hope.

The trick is to keep breathing, right Jeri?

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006