TV Woes Part 2

20 September 2004 1:08 pm

A new development in the Singapore broadcast media indusry: SPH Mediaworks, the television corporation responsible for our viewing diet of B-movies and defunct TV series, will now merge with Mediacorp, who as you will recall from this entry, is the "Home of the Blockbusters". So much for that experiment in free enterprise and monopolistic competition. Mediacorp has won Monopoly.

One wonders how the merger will benefit viewers. Apparently Channel i will cease to exist. *Gulp* Does that mean I can no longer watch Law and Order? And how much better can Channel 5 be now that it will be the only English-language entertainment channel? (There is actually another channel called Arts Central which only shows artsy-fartsy shit that I'm not always in the mood for, you know like European art house movies and interviews with the likes of Pavarotti and Philip Glass. I wouldn't call that an entertainment channel). Does this mean we get to see more movies, like My Best Friend's Weddding, Sister Act, Father of the Bride, Mission Impossible and Scream 1, 2 and 3? Yay.

Excuse me while I mop the floor clean of the sarcasm I'm dripping. Please, please, please don't let the cable company merge with Mediacorp.

<< | >>


Older entries
Ramadan - 08 October 2006
Where I Have Been - 03 October 2006
Baby Talk - 10 August 2006
6 Weeks of Separation - 16 July 2006
Unacceptable Rudeness - 21 June 2006